About the Division of Social Sciences

Fast Facts

Dean: George R. Mangun
Faculty Members: 200
Undergraduate Student Majors: 6,600
Graduate Students: 500
2012-2013 Philanthropic Contributions: $3.86 million
2012-2013 Research Awards: $18 million

2013 US News and World Report Rankings* 

Economics: 32
History: 27
U.S. Colonial History: 9
Political Science: 23
Comparative Politics: 15
Political Methodology:15
Psychology: 21
Sociology: 31
Sex and Gender: 10

*most recent rankings
Additional rankings are available at www.ls.ucdavs.edu.

Notable Faculty Achievements

Pulitzer Prize: Alan Taylor
Guggenheim Fellowship: Charan Ranganath
Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science: Steven Luck
Distinguished Scientific Contributions to Media Psychology Award: Dean Simonton
2012 IZA Young Labor Economist Award: Scott Carrell
Annaliese Maier Research Award: Jeffrey W. Sherman
American Academy of Arts and Sciences member: Susan Mann
Charles P. Nash Award: Robert May

Download in a single PDF

News and Research

Faculty Achievements

Strategic Plan


  • Linda Acredolo, Professor Emeritus, Psychology, Discovered effectiveness of “baby sign language”
  • Anna Escobedo Cabral, B.A., Political Science, ’87, United States Treasurer, 2005-2009
  • Gregory Clark, Professor of Economics, Author of Bestseller A Farewell to Alms and The Son Also Rises
  • Josh “DJ Shadow” Davis, B.A., Rhetoric and Communications, ’95, Chart-Topping DJ/Musician
  • Delaine Eastin, B.A., Political Science, ’69, Four-Term State Assemblywoman
  • Larry Fahn, B.A., Rhetoric, President, ’76, President, Sierra Club
  • Karen Joy Fowler, M.A., Political Science, ’74, Bestselling Author
  • Sarah Blaffer Hrdy, Professor Emerita, Anthropology, Bestselling Author, Member, National Academy of Sciences (NAS)
  • Augustus “Gus” Lee, B.A., Political Science, ’69, J.D., ’76, Author of Critically-Acclaimed Book China Boy
  • Angel Martinez, B.A., Rhetoric, ’77, Co-founder, Reebok USA, CEO, Deckers Corporation
  • Grant Rosenberg, B.A., Political Science and Communications, ’74, Hollywood executive and writer
  • Phillip Shaver, Distinguished Professor of Psychology, Expert on love and attachment in adults
  • Jackie Speier, B.A., Political Science, ’72, Member of U.S. Congress
  • Alan Taylor, Professor of History, Winner of Pulitzer Prize
  • David Hurst Thomas, B.A., ‘67, MA, ‘68, Ph.D., ‘71, Anthropology, Curator, American Museum of Natural History, Member, NAS
  • Ann Veneman, B.A., Political Science, ’70, Executive Director, UNICEF, Former Secretary of the U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Louis Warren, W. Turrentine Jackson Professor of Western U.S. History, Author of Buffalo Bill’s America

About the College of Letters and Science

The College of Letters and Science is the largest of the schools and colleges, in the UC’s most comprehensive university. The college is made up of three divisions encompassing the broadest offering of disciplines at UC Davis: Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies, Mathematical and Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences. The college’s 650+ faculty members teach the core curriculum for virtually all 23,000 undergraduate students in the university as well as mentoring thousands of graduate students pursuing more than 50 fields of interest in the college.