Dean's Awards

The Division of Social Sciences Dean's Awards program recognizes some of the contributions that faculty and staff have made to the division and to UC Davis. 

2015 recipients

Innovation Awards

$1000 research awards — These awards may be for Senate or Federation scholars whose recent work demonstrates exceptional innovation in research and scholarship.

Thomas Beamish, Sociology

Katharine Graf Estes, Center for Mind and Brain/Psychology

Jacob Hibel, Sociology

Bernard Molyneux, Philosophy

Doctoral Fellowships for Excellence

$1000 research awards — These awards are for doctoral students who have advanced to candidacy and whose graduate record of achievement demonstrates exceptional achievement in research and scholarship.

Ali Chaudhary, Sociology

Jesse Hammond, Political Science

Ke Jiang, Communication

Jeremy Mikecz, History

Kristina Victor, Political Science

Staff Accomplishment Award

$1000 staff professional development awards — Staff members in any title who have displayed exceptional leadership and/or accomplishment in supporting the mission of the university in research/scholarship, teaching and service.

Yoke Dellenback, DSS Research Service Center

Sande Dyer, DSS Research Service Center

Chris Hermes, DSS Administrative Yellow Cluster

Jacque Leaver, DSS Administrative Green Cluster

Brooke Miller-Jacobs, DSS Administrative Orange Cluster

Kathy Miner, DSS Administrative Blue Cluster

Noelle Reis, DSS Administrative Yellow Cluster

Dean's Leadership Award

$1000 research/development award — This award may be for a Senate or Federation scholar, staff member, postdoctoral fellow, graduate or undergraduate student who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in advancing the mission of the university. Funds for this award were generously provided by Cindy and Jeff Traum.

Victoria Austin, Institute for Social Sciences

Christyann Darwent, Anthropology

John Scott, Political Science

Post Doctoral Fellowships for Excellence

$1000 research award — This award is for a postdoctoral scholar whose record of achievement demonstrates exceptional achievement in research and scholarship. Funds for this award were generously provided by Kim and Kevin Bacon.

Roberta “Robie” Schriber, Center for Mind and Brain

Dean's Award for Diversity, Inclusion and Equity

$1000 research/development award — This award is for an undergraduate or graduate student, Senate or Federation scholar, or staff member whose efforts reflect the campus commitment to diversity, inclusivity and equity.

Katherine Parpana, DSS Administrative Blue Cluster

Supplemental content

Dean's Awards by Year